top of page
  • Writer's picturexueh jing

story through illustration

Updated: Jun 6, 2019

last tuesday, we made illustrations using different types of materials. ms vin sze had provided us with various types of materials which gave us a wider range of choices to work with, to come out with our illustrations.


since we had limited time, i only came up with two very simple illustrations! both inspired from my research. my research zone is Brickfields.


one of my illustrations is a red colour bag which can be interpreted as the common red plastic bag used at the morning market. besides that, it can also be interpreted as my grandmother's red tote bag that she always uses when she goes to the morning and night market. the other illustration is the ikat-tepi made using brown paper bag, with the red cloth as the string and the white paper as the straw. ikat-tepi is common when you go to the night market when you purchase a drink. i decided to stick my grandmother's chinese name on it. I used pages from a dictionary to make my grandmother's name. the ragged edges of the paper is to symbolise that my grandmother did not have the privilege to go to school when she was younger and she had to learn how to read and write chinese on her own and also with the help of my late grandfather.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page