top of page
  • Writer's picturexueh jing

research research research

As I mentioned before, in my intangible map, I decided to focus on the topic "familiarity". First off I'd like to mention what I read: being nostalgic is actually a very natural human tendency, and a common one too. On average, people engage in it about once a week, set off by such things as a familiar scent, piece of music or old photo (Leardi, J., 2013). Which is why I have decided to research more on nostalgia, as the feeling of familiarity triggers the feeling of nostalgia.


Delving into the origins of the feeling of nostalgia, I watched this Ted Ed video to help me learn more. it's funny how in the late 17th century, the Swiss soldiers used to think they had this strange illness and couldn't pinpoint what it was that caused them with this "illness" to have symptoms such as fatigue, insomnia, irregular heart beat, indigestion and even fever. This strange illness turns out to be the feeling of nostalgia. Johannes Hofer, a Swiss medical student figured that it was not caused physically but instead it was an intense yearning for their homeland. He decided to name this condition "nostalgia". In Greek, "Nostos" is homecoming and "Algos" is pain or longing. (f.1) (Why do we feel nostalgia?, 2016)

f.1 (Why do we feel nostalgia?, 2016)

Many don't know that nostalgia promotes psychological health. We tend to feel happier, have higher self-esteem, feel closer to loved ones and feel that life has more meaning. And on a physical level, nostalgia literally makes us feel warmer. (Leardi, J., 2013) It can even help to counteract loneliness. That's the kind of nostalgia I want to bring out through my map.


Besides, nostalgia has been gaining momentum in recent years in popular culture. But one unique attribute of this new nostalgia trend is that it tends to be more faux nostalgia; that is, nostalgia for things that we weren’t a part of when they originally were popular. The inclusion of not only vintage ads and products, but also clothing, hairstyles, architecture, and even language gives us an immersive experience. But the amazing part of the show is that it evokes feelings of nostalgia even in those of us who never experienced the '60s the first time around. (Chapman C., 2018)


I've decided to make my research zone around Brickfields 十五碑, Kuala Lumpur. According to Yip (n.d.) Brickfields is also called “the 15th Milestone”, indicating that this town is 15th mile away from somewhere strategic in days of yore. Architect and heritage conservationist Teoh Chee Keong published a relevant essay in his book The Disappearing Kuala Lumpur. Brickfields got its name when Yap Tet Loy, also known as Yap Moa Lan, bought a large piece of land and established a bricks kiln. The act of supplying bricks introduced a new dimension to the architecture of buildings in Kuala Lumpur. As documented in the paper The History of Yap Ah Loy produced by Kongsi NetWorks: “The brickworks is now gone, but nevertheless had left its mark on the outskirts of today’s Kuala Lumpur known as Brickfields.” (Malay Mail, 2014) I chose this place mostly because of my grandmother. She has lived there for more than 20 years and I also lived with her during my younger years, for about 8 years or more. I have a lot of nostalgic memories at that place.

When people hear about Brickfields, the first thing that comes to most people's minds is "Little India" as it is well known for that. I remember when I grew up watching Little India come to live in Brickfields. I couldn't remember how old I was when Brickfields became Little India so I searched it up. Apparently, Little India before this was located along Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman in central KL. It was 2009 when our former Malaysian prime minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak decided that Little India would move to Brickfields, to where it is now. The reason for that is because Brickfields is one of the oldest Indian settlements of the country (Kuala Lumpur Little India Brickfields - Kuala Lumpur Attractions, n.d.). As Little India came to live, Brickfields became one of the KL's tourist spots. (fig.2) What used to be just a residential area became a colourful must-go destination.


fig.2 (Little India, 2014)

But Brickfields is just more than Little India. Brickfields has a lot of history behind it and I intend to research more about this as I go. I looked into literary work and movies to see if any of them had the settings in Brickfields and guess what I found! "Gangsters in Retirement by Balan Moses: A bunch of old Indian gangsters in Brickfields reminiscing their glory days. Beliefs collide, people change but will your past actions ever stop chasing you? The story feels a little like watching a B-rated Tamil movie, but reading it somehow manages to grab your attention with details that are always left out in the movies." (Balakrishnan, N., 2015) This was said about one of the fictional stories written in the book "KL Noir: Blue". Best believe I'll get my hands on the book as soon as I can. Reading that helped me learn that Balan Moses had written a few books and stories based in Brickfields. One of his books is titled "Brickfields And Beyond: Stories From The Past", it includes several fictional stories based on real life people he has met. (The Star Online, 2015) I'm surprised (in a good way) knowing someone is telling their story about Brickfields through literary work and I'm looking forward to giving them a read.


Many people assume that Brickfields is an area with only Indians as it is known as one of the Indian settlements of the country. What I want to tell here is a story from my perspective, a perspective of a third generation Chinese girl who grew up in Brickfields. I know it's certainly not a common thing because whenever I tell people my grandma's house which I consider my second home to be Brickfields, they tend to be surprised. So, with my map, I hope to show people what Brickfields is, from my point of view. I read this article of someone who grew up i Brickfields and I couldn't agree more from what he said: "From my early childhood right up until today, I have always had a soft spot for this place that was the playground of my grandparents, my mother and her siblings." and "I have come to realise that as I grow older, I become more nostalgic and I have begun to appreciate all these historical buildings that make up our city and are physical links to our past and who we are." (M. B., 2015)


One of the few things that arise the feeling of nostalgia are the places I frequent in Brickfields. Some of them are the Thean Hou temple, Maha Vihara buddhist temple, the Palm Court night market, SJK (C) St Teresa, my old primary school. I'll be focusing on these places and somehow embed my stories into my main map. I definitely have more places with nostalgic stories but I'll talk about that for the next progress post.


 

Balakrishnan, N. (2015, September 19). 7 Malaysian Fiction Novels For Anyone Who Says Books Put Them To Sleep. Retrieved from https://says.com/my/lifestyle/if-you-think-books-put-you-to-sleep-then-these-malaysian-books-might-change-your-mind


Chapman, C. (2018, February 07). The psychology of nostalgia. Retrieved from https://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2013/06/the-psychology-of-nostalgia/


Kuala Lumpur Little India Brickfields - Kuala Lumpur Attractions. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.kuala-lumpur.ws/attractions/brickfields.htm


Leardi, J. (2013, October 05). How A Dose Of Nostalgia Could Boost Your Self-Esteem. Retrieved from https://www.huffpost.com/entry/benefits-of-nostalgia_n_4031759


Little India. (2014, August 14). Retrieved from http://www.gokl.my/little-india/


Malay Mail. (2014, October 08). Brickfields: Big in history | Malay Mail. Retrieved from https://www.malaymail.com/news/opinion/2014/10/08/brickfields-big-in-history/759555


M. B. (2015, October 18). Missing Brickfields of yesteryear. Retrieved from https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/focus/2015/04/25/missing-brickfields-of-yesteryear/


The Star Online. (2015, October 18). Unravelling the soul and culture of Brickfields. Retrieved from https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2012/11/25/unravelling-the-soul-and-culture-of-brickfields/


Why do we feel nostalgia? (2016, November 21). Retrieved April 29, 2019, from https://youtu.be/WiTgn5QH_HU


Yip Y. T. (n.d.). Old buildings dwarfed in the shadow of Brickfields' new and imposing architecture. Retrieved from http://www.starproperty.my/index.php/articles/property-news/old-buildings-dwarfed-in-the-shadow-of-brickfields-new-and-imposing-architecture/

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page