top of page
  • Writer's picturexueh jing

REFLECTION ON READINGS


What It Is? Graphic Design


All I have to say is that I was nodding my way internally through the whole time I was reading this, as I agree with a lot of things the writer said. I underlined some of my favourite parts of the writing. (shown in image below) One of the reasons I like graphic design is because it's a way of voicing a comment, opinion, a POV and more. It's a way of expressing oneself about something and conveying a message. Through graphic design, we can raise awareness and even express for what we stand for. For example, I've seen a lot of designers' works revolve around important topics like feminism, LGBT rights, gender issues, body positivity and so on. They are taking their designs to another level by adding a strong meaning and value behind it and that's really admirable. Graphic designers let their audience to have that emotional experience which they can only find in it their works. Visuals are so important because visual is the fastest way to catch someone's attention and which proves how important graphic design is in this world.


What It Is? Graphic Design by Timothy Samara

"earth without art is just eh"

 

Why Theory?


I agree that critical reflection is important in every design process. As a designer, we are always everywhere and learning from every little thing we come across. It's actually right when Lupton mentioned that we focus largely on "how". I always question myself things like "how is this significant?" "how do I make this better?" "how do I apply my skills in this?" When I think about "why" it gets me into a deeper thinking. "why am I doing this?" "why this and not that" It's good to always reflect and revisit the reason and purpose of each design we make or we are making, especially in a design process. It can do good like motivate us and drive us forward to the direction of our goal. I also like one of the phrases I underlined : "Design is visible everywhere, yet it is also invisible - unnoticed and unacknowledge." Design plays a huge role in our daily lives, we are looking at it without even realising. This also means graphic designers play a huge role in the world we are living.

Another phrase I underlined: "terms and demands will constantly change" shows that being a designer is versatile in a sense that we are always shapeshifting and changing our styles depending on what is it that the world wants. I think that's an amazing thing a designer is capable of doing.

Why Theory? by Ellen Lupton

"art is everywhere you look for it"

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page