top of page
  • Writer's picturexueh jing

life tracking and data visualisation

Updated: May 18, 2020

so, in monday's class we were told to pick something to track from monday (11/5) until thursday (14/5). mr kevin had showed us multiple examples such as giorgia lupi and stefanie posavec's "Dear Data", an analog data drawing project that lasted for 52 weeks where they track something each week and hand draw them in postcards & send them to each other.


how they collected data and then visualised it:


i decided to track "how many times i've talked to my animal crossing villagers" because playing animal crossing has been part of my daily routine and i thought it'd be fun to do it.

inspired by the one i attached above, i collected my data this way:



i recorded down from morning till night, each time i talked to any of my villager by giving a lil mark. i used a different colour to represent each villager. i also decided to record down whenever they gave me something (an object, clothes or diy recipe) and when i gave them something (object or clothes)


also for my visualisation map i used tulip because my favourite flower in the game is tulips!

doing this activity made me realise that data visualisation is not as it seems and i'm not sure if what i'm doing is right :,-) but it was definitely interesting to keep track of what i usually am unaware of. as you can see from my data visualisation, i subconsciously talked to dom the most (maybe bc he's my favourite)

62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


Kevin Chan
Kevin Chan
21 de mai. de 2020

Hahaha, nice topic! Well considering that i do understand what you are trying to convey just through the data viz, i'd say you've succeeded! 👏

Curtir
bottom of page